Skip to content

Thank-you!

February 20, 2013

I really mean it.

The aftermath of Sunday’s distressing discovery, and Monday’s subsequent victory, found me elated, relieved, disgusted, and dismayed. It honestly gave me pause as to whether I should continue to offer free patterns on my site. This isn’t the first time someone has stolen a pattern from me and well, may not be the last.

And then I wondered if maybe it was my over tiredness talking, as the past four weeks have been quite busy and sleepless for me. I decided to then read through your wonderfully supportive comments, and looked at all of the many emails I received from friends, designers, customers, and people I didn’t even know alerting me to the issue, and genuinely upset on my behalf. I saw a lot of tweets, facebook comments, flickr and instagram comments of support and notes of action taken to help, and it … no, YOU reminded me of why I put free patterns up in the first place.

This crafting, sewing and quilting community of ours is such a rich and wonderful place filled to the brim with honest, passionate friends who are all looking out for each other, and genuinely interested in helping each other grow and learn. I very clearly remember being so happy to find free photo tutorials, and free patterns when I needed them the most. So much of my passion for sewing and drive to keep trying and learning truly stemmed from the generosity of a handful of knowledgeable people.

Origami flowers I learned from a free tutorial

I thank them, and I thank you for keeping me inspired, and for your notes of thanks and happiness over finding my videos and patterns. It honestly makes my day when someone emails me a photo, or adds one to the Artisania Flickr group of something they’ve made using one of my patterns. Every time. Your smiles really warm my heart and that makes it all worth it!

Happy VMQG Greetings from Antarctica Pillows Workshop attendees

If you’re hankering for more happy thanks, head over to Jen’s video post at SewHooked. Yes, we were doing whatever we could to fix the problem, but believe me she was too! This is one woman you want in your corner and I’m honoured to call her my friend.

And I’m so very honoured to call you my friend too.

Happy Sewing!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Kim permalink
    February 20, 2013 8:08 am

    Good work, getting rid of that website of thievery. That’s a work I think.
    I wanted to tell you how happy and excited I was when I found your blog and the Canucks patterns!!!!! I can’t wait to make that one. Maybe I’ll wait till they’re on another winning streak, haha!
    I have also purchased your foxy bag pattern and the doggie pattern.
    I have one request to add to your list. Could you create a hockey rink pattern? That would be lovely :)
    Thank you for your inspiring patterns.

  2. Kim permalink
    February 20, 2013 8:09 am

    *word*
    Note to self- proof read before hitting the post button.

  3. February 20, 2013 8:15 am

    Its lovely and thank you for the tip on the free pattern and its a joy to see your work

  4. Lysa Flower permalink
    February 20, 2013 1:19 pm

    Sharing information seems such a part of quilting, it’s shocking to discover someone would exploit that. Thanks for letting us know about it. We love your patterns and your openness to share. Even more so when we discover there are *poop heads* out there. Strong language, I know ;)

  5. February 20, 2013 3:27 pm

    Yeah, You are amazing.
    and — You are loved

  6. Deb permalink
    February 21, 2013 2:35 pm

    Karma should take care of it all…..remember, what goes around, comes around. Maybe not today or tomorrow, but eventually the thief or theives will get what’s coming to them, and it’s not going to be pretty! Your patterns are awesome! Your generosity legendary…don’t let a bad apple leave a bruise on you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 727 other followers

