Skip to content

Paper Piecing 101 Workshop!

September 19, 2012

Hey everyone!

Just popping in to let you know about the workshop I’m teaching for the Fraser Valley Modern Quilt Guild on Saturday, October 6, 2012.

It’s for sewists and quilters who have never really gotten the hang of paper piecing (aka foundation piecing) and would love to learn. I will also be showing all of my advanced piecing tips and tricks for those who could use a technique refresher.

Want to see what we’re making? Want to join in? I list the details at the bottom!

Yep, there was a request for gnomes and foxes! So I created this simple and roomy tote bag, featuring a wee gnome and fox on one side…

And a gnome and mushroom on the other…

I kept the bag pattern simple, straightforward and reversible because I love having choices…

It’s my first official workshop and I’m super excited and kinda nervous, but I know it’s going to be a lot of fun!

If you’re in the Fraser Valley/Lower Mainland area and would like to join in the Paper Piecing¬† 101 Workshop, please email Lysa, the president of the FVMQG at:

redspottedpatch at gmail dot com

Here are the details:

It’s a one day workshop running from 10am – 4pm on Saturday October 6th

Location -  Room 132, Abbotsford campus of the Fraser Valley University

As of today there are only 5 spots  4 spots left!

Cost – $40

All pattern templates and the tote bag pattern will be provided, along with a stack of extras just in case!

Basic sewing skills are required. You should be comfortable with a sewing machine, rotary mat and cutter, and be ready to play!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2012 9:39 pm

    Oh that is so enchanting!

  2. September 20, 2012 12:30 am

    Good luck with the workshop – the tote is delightful.

  3. elsa permalink
    September 20, 2012 6:16 am

    Such a cute bag! wish I were there ~ I’d take the class!
    Have lots of fun~

  4. September 20, 2012 8:07 am

    Oooooh, you’re gonna rock it! The first of many workshops you’ll teach, no doubt. I so wish I could join you!

  5. Lysa Flower permalink
    September 20, 2012 4:33 pm

    It’s gonna be sew awesome! (See what I did there, wink, wink!)

  6. September 20, 2012 6:52 pm

    This is going to be great! Wish I was close enough to sign up.

  7. September 20, 2012 10:48 pm

    Sonja, I’m so sorry I’m not at all at the area (not even US). I would love to come! Love that bag :)

  8. September 21, 2012 2:01 pm

    You need to model all of your projects. Seriously.

  9. September 23, 2012 4:14 pm

    Love the bag – I was going to say it’s adorable, but I agree with Heide – it’s enchanting!

  10. September 27, 2012 3:18 am

    I am loving this bag! I want the patterns :) wish I could join in on the class! Super cute!

  11. October 6, 2012 8:07 am

    Thinking of you today – I know you’ll be an amazing teacher! These photos are beautiful – both you and the tote look great!

Trackbacks

  1. Workshop Success! « Artisania

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 722 other followers

