Skip to content

Quilts from Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks

March 6, 2012

Good morning dear readers!

And it’s a lovely morning to help announce the release of the first special issue of  Quilts from Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks!

Want to see what I submitted for this issue? *hehe*

Lil’ Monkeys take the bus! And they do it in style, donning their favourite hats. It’s a lap quilt measuring 45″ x 56″, and would delight any little kid in need of a quilt.

This series of monkey patterns was based on my original Lil’ Monkey design published in QM’s 100 Blocks Vol 4. back in November, 2011.

Photo by Laurraine Yuyama

With a little nip and a tuck, I adjusted his head to allow for 6 easily interchangeable hat variations. When I showed my draft to my son, he insisted that I design some hands and a steering wheel so the bus isn’t careening out of control down the street! Smart kid, I’d completely overlooked that rather significant detail.

Here’s the completed top I sent down to Quiltmaker, which was then quilted and bound by Donna Smith. My son was just big enough to hold it for the photo.

Want to take a wild guess who was the big inspiration behind Lil’ Monkey?

…..

So, if you hop on over to Quiltmaker’s blog, you can preview all of the quilts and enter for a chance to win a free copy of the magazine!

Thanks for stopping by, and Happy Sewing!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2012 3:57 am

    it’s absolutely darling, Sonja!!! Congratulations!

  2. March 6, 2012 4:24 am

    aw! your son is so cute!

    the quilt is too, but i’ve already seen the quilt, and not your son. ;)

    while i still love the original block with it’s spiky hair best, the crown and the baseball hat are both so awesome.

  3. March 6, 2012 4:48 am

    Another awesome quilt! I have three little monkeys of my own so I suspect this quilt is in my future. Fabulous!

  4. jeanne e. permalink
    March 6, 2012 5:25 am

    that is such a cute quilt! you have totally turned me on to Quiltmaker Magazine…I never noticed it really, or at least I never picked it up, until I found your Lil Fox pattern and your blog. :) Thank you!

  5. March 6, 2012 7:19 am

    Sonja! That is such an adorable quilt!!! I love the idea of every monkey having an completely unique hat!

    Oh and your son is just as adorable as the quilt!

  6. March 6, 2012 7:54 am

    Sonja this is just total awesomeness. So, so great! Well done to you and your trusty assistant.

  7. March 6, 2012 7:58 am

    So cute Sinja, children will just love that quilt! I have been loving your little monkeys’ pp designs on Flickr too- talented children x

  8. March 6, 2012 9:28 am

    Absolutely adorable!! I love how you created variation of this character.

  9. ina permalink
    March 6, 2012 11:06 am

    Adorable!! It is SO hard to find fun ‘boy’ patterns in the quilting AND sewing world! You hit a home run. ;p

  10. March 6, 2012 12:06 pm

    Thanks for posting about this, Sonja! Love your block, the quilt and your own little monkey!

  11. March 6, 2012 3:02 pm

    love your monkeys on the bus!!!

  12. March 6, 2012 8:50 pm

    Aw your lil’ monkey is adorable!

  13. Claudia permalink
    March 6, 2012 10:48 pm

    Your little bus full of monkeys doesn’t live that far away from me (e WA state). Really cute, and I know a little monkey (with red hair) that would love it.

  14. March 12, 2012 12:02 pm

    This quilt is just so much fun!! I want someone to have a baby boy so I can make one!!!

Trackbacks

  1. QM Rocks the Blocks: Posts from the Designers | Quilty Pleasures Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 722 other followers

