Skip to content

The Mug Rug.

September 12, 2010

The what?

Mug Rug. It’s a glorified coaster for your mug.

And there are 197 people swapping them on Flickr. Yes it’s the latest obsession and I’m right in there like a dirty shirt baby.

One of my favorite things about joining swaps is creating my inspiration collage. Man there are some talented people out there..

I also like stalking my partners. Ok that sounded bad…

I don’t “stalk” them stalk them, I just like going through their favorites list and getting those creative juices going. I love coming up with something new, or different. Or just plain fun.

So after mulling over some ideas for awhile, I came up with this concept for my partner’s mug rug:

Hrm, which color palette do I choose…

Yellows?

Or pinks?

Since I couldn’t decide just then, I began with the leaf and base..

The little Owl bug:

I tried the yellow but it just hurt my eyes. So I went with pink and I’m glad I did:

Now I once learned that when sewing curves, you need to notch out your seam allowance so that it lies nice when you turn your work and press the seam. So that’s what I did for the center of the flower. But it totally did NOT work..

What the heck? Every notch I made just left these annoying points all… around… the… &#&*@#^$… circle.

Otherwise I love this thing! Isn’t that owl just so cheerful? I studied my partner’s tastes and favorite mugs closely, and I’m fairly certain she’ll love it too.

Now to fix that center, because it’ll drive me nuts if I don’t. *sigh*

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2010 7:01 am

    this is fantastic! I love the colors and the 3D quality of it. Nice work!

  2. September 12, 2010 2:08 pm

    sonja that’s fantastic! You are so creative and you have the most divine fabrics. Please don’t show them to me when we come to visit lol Those are some really cute mug rugs! Love all the owls <3

  3. September 13, 2010 12:24 pm

    That is adorable! You have one lucky partner!

  4. Paula permalink
    September 13, 2010 2:13 pm

    I love it! Particularly that it is not rectangular and bound … very imaginative!

  5. September 13, 2010 5:03 pm

    Thanks for your sweet comments ladies! I had a lot of fun with this one.

  6. Amy McGrady permalink
    October 21, 2010 11:56 am

    I love it! Great job. And don’t worry about the circle not lying flat. It takes lots of practice to get it right. I use stick glue (just regular ol’ glue sticks work great and wash right out) to hold the little snipped pieces in place and you can reposition them until you get it right. It really does look GREAT!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 727 other followers

