Skip to content

A croc, a snail, a hat and a new bedroom wall.

January 30, 2009

Being sick really seems to help my productivity…

Liam had asked me to make him a stuffed toy a few days ago, and specifically asked for a crocodile. Aaww, this was the first time he ever asked for mommy to make him anything so of course I’d make him one! We sat down and drew out some crocs, and then we both chose the leftover strip of super soft green minkee (from the backing of the sailboat baby quilt). He picked out the eyes, and Maya helped sew the feet.

It was so cute making this with him. He sat right next to his sister as she sewed, and then he insisted on putting the stuffing in by himself. I finished him up as the kids were in bed and Liam found him on his pillow in the “big bed” (aka mommy and daddy’s bed) in the middle of the night. He loves him. His name is Crackers.

 

I also knitted a hat. One of my aunts is a hataholic and every now and then when I get the urge to knit something instantly gratifying, I’ll knit one up for her. Liam is my hat model, as this woman has the smallest head! LOL!

It’s the spiral hat pattern from the Berrocco free patterns directory. I did pretty well until the decreasing rounds. Ah well, it still looks alright! It’s made from this lovely super soft baby bamboo yarn. I’d take a pic of the other ball I bought if I could remember where the heck I stored it…?

Let’s see, what else?

Oh yeah, I made some progress on that snail stitching I started.

It’s one of the completely adorable free patterns from the Badbirds website. I just love this one! I was inspired by Ezri B’s crayon on fabric technique and dug through the kids crayon pile.  It still needs something over the machine stitching before it get’s the final quilt treatment.

And remember John’s quilt he sent me? Well it has a new permanent spot in my home. 

 

I just love this quilt! He really has such attention to detail, and it is so well made! Since there was a little bit more light today, more than there’s been in a while, I shot some more pics of it, and the lovely extras he sent along with the quilt.

Aren’t these tags just amazing? I can’t wait to use them!

Ahhh, life is good!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2009 12:12 pm

    I just love that snail! I am going to have to try out the crayon technique.

  2. January 30, 2009 1:31 pm

    aw, Liam’s crocodile stuffy is so cute!! the bumpy green minky is perfect for it! it’s so great hearing of you all sewing together :) and that knit hat is gorgeous!! I just bookmarked the pattern and it’s now on my to-knit list! thanks for sharing the link! your crayon tinted embroidery is really cute and look at all those goodies from John! your mini quilt from him is definitely a favorite of mine :) Have a great weekend, Sonja!

  3. January 30, 2009 2:53 pm

    I love the quit wall hanging, very cute. And Wow! You came up with that croc all by yourself! Impressive!

  4. January 30, 2009 5:13 pm

    i love the crocodile.

  5. February 4, 2009 2:19 pm

    That little house quilt looks so perfect on that peach wall! Love Crackers too.
    Wendy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 727 other followers

