Skip to content

Ready for some piratey goodness?

November 1, 2008

This blog post was submitted to the All About Parenting Blog Carnival, on the topic of “Halloween,” hosted by Sherri Osborn, About.com’s Guide to Family Crafts.” :

INTRODUCING THE PIRATES OF THE CALLAGHANS, HALLOWEEN 2008!

Oh we had a hoot!!

Here I am!!

Yes, I rinsed the dress out a bit. I was smelling a bit too swampy LOL! I spent the evening handing out treasures to the little kiddies. Well more like having fun with themĀ  with my Caribbean accent.

To the child wearing in a zombie costume:

“Hey you are a dead child! What happen to you? Hey lady, what have you done with your child? She’s dead! You know.. you go home, you eat a nice big dinna, an maybe tamorrow you come back alive”

Close up of the bodice..

…and the back…

Here’s the shawl, which I lined with the whole back piece of the red velvet dress I used for the corset. I painted a white cotton lace table doily thingy as well. I ran out of black paint, so it came out a lovely grey instead…

If I never see another crazy, long, icky black hair it’ll be too soon. Each lock was dread according to proper dreadlocking techniques found on the internet..

Click here to see how I made the Petticoat

Click here to see how I made the Corset.

Here’s a reference picture of Tia Dalma. Here’s another showing the corset.

My husband as Captain Jack Sparrow..

and my sister in law Stephanie..

Yaargh! There would have been more pictures of the children if Liam hadn’t projectile vomited after the very first group picture was taken. Yep. All over him, all over me, and all over the floor.

I hope your Halloween was as fun as ours!

Click here to see a fun video of the kids trying on their costumes!


5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2008 12:06 am

    He does look a bit puny in that first photo!

    Great costumes! I like that the whole group, not just the immediate family, went with the theme!

    I had one teen ask me (jokingly) if I had any whiskey. I told him (while contributing to his bag) if he was old enough to drink whiskey he was old enough to go out and buy his own candy. Little Guy (about 8 or 9) and Teen Girl with him snickered.

  2. November 2, 2008 1:05 pm

    Great costumes! I so wish I could get my family go themed. Someday, maybe!

  3. November 4, 2008 2:27 am

    WOW – Sonja! You did a superb job with the costume! I am thoroughly IMPRESSED!

Trackbacks

  1. Halloween costume preview « Artisania
  2. Happy Halloween Mommy, and by the way Liam threw up everywhere. « Artisania

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 735 other followers

